Skip to content
Tuesday, January 9, 2007, 2:21 am / A

‘Cause heaven ain’t close in a place like this

I hate just posting song lyrics, as a rule, but sometimes I feel – and it is a deep, wounding, soulful feeling – that I have no better way of explaining how I feel. That’s part of the role of Poets and Rock Stars as Shamans of our modern age, in a peculiar way. Although, as I was recently reminded, they do sound better when sung than read, unless you already have the tunes stuck on play in your head…like me. – G.

(That’s just perfect.)
Did you think my favourite Killers song was Mr. Brightside? Well, it isn’t. This is.

The Killers – All These Things That I’ve Done

When there’s nowhere else to run
Is there room for one more son
One more son
If you can hold on
If you can hold on, hold on

I wanna stand up, I wanna let go
You know, you know – no you don’t, you don’t
I wanna shine on in the hearts of men
I want a meaning from the back of my broken hand

Another head aches, another heart breaks
I’m so much older than I can take
And my affection, well it comes and goes
I need direction to perfection, no no no no

Help me out
Yeah, you know you got to help me out
Yeah, oh don’t you put me on the back burner
You know you got to help me out, yeah

And when there’s nowhere else to run
Is there room for one more son
These changes ain’t changing me
The cold-hearted boy I used to be

Yeah, you know you got to help me out
Yeah, oh don’t you put me on the back burner
You know you got to help me out
Yeah, you’re gonna bring yourself down
Yeah, you’re gonna bring yourself down

I got soul, but I’m not a soldier

Over and in, last call for sin
While everyone’s lost, the battle is won
With all these things that I’ve done
All these things that I’ve done
If you can hold on
If you can hold on

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. liquidblackout / Jan 9 2007 4:17 am

    I like the video for Bones, LOL
    Get well soon!

  2. B / Jan 9 2007 6:28 am

    Mmmm yeah.. I hate posting song lyrics too, although I stupidly used to do it with Eminem lyrics before (of all things! I was truly young and stupid) and now I mostly have tunes stuck in my head. I whistle though, I don’t sing.

  3. Lainie / Jan 9 2007 8:47 pm

    my favourite too :)

  4. liquidblackout / Jan 12 2007 3:15 am

    LOL @ Intensecure

Leave a Reply

